Game Review: The Walk

Wednesday night is church education night at my relatives’ place. One of my cousin’s teaches a parenting class to a score of other people including some of my other cousins. They all bring their kids over. I have no kids and I’m not into their revival style, so I help wrangle all the tots instead of sit in and learn useless religious things. Usually by the end of it, I’m in the need for a drink. This time, I told myself I wouldn’t spend a dime on drinks. I’m going to walk to the bars (2 miles away) and just game outside. This would be a sober approach night. Yeah, that didn’t last long.

I was sitting outside Lounge 33 at the Riverside Plaza talking to a buddy going through some hard shit. As I’m talking to him I see a group of three chicks walk by the club, stop, turn and decide to go in. I immediately target the one truly dressed up, a good girl 7. The other two just put on a jacket or whatever over their normal clothes. After finishing up the conversation (iPhone batteries suck by the way), I go in to Lounge 33 and sit up right next to the group and order a Corona. My hearts beating hard again, like anxiety style, but I keep my eyes to the TV or look around. The place is a tiny ass dance club. Its shape is better sized for a Subway, but it works. Not to long after I saddle up, Dressy Chick drops her phone near me and leans over in my direction trying to grab it. I just stare and laugh. After she’s finally grabbed it, I say “What was going on there?” She just laughs. As the music drops, I say “So what are you guys doing dressed up on a Wednesday?” Emphasis on that its probably a slow, slow day for partying.

“Its kind of a bachelorette party.” Oh, son of a bitch, really?

“Oh? Who’s getting married?” Not you. Dear God, not you.

She points to herself. “Me.” Dammit!

I raise my beer. “Congrats on that!” and she turns back to her two friends.

After my beer’s done I leave.

Wednesday night is Taco Night at the Sire, so of course I head over there since the Plaza bars are completely dead. Taco Night is always a big night for this place. I walk in, say hi to a few guys I know, grab a Jack and Coke and go outside to make a call. Yes, Maria. No, she didn’t answer. Yes, it frustrated me. No, not for long. I go back in and sit, taking generous gulps. I watch the talent move in and out of the patio area. I get a second drink, close out and head out there with an eye on a cute chick showing off all her chesty stuff. I sit right next to their table and quickly overhear what I thought was couple talk between the guy there and the tits chick (I’m still not sure if they’re together or what). After I finish my smoke I’m in the motion of getting up to ask their third wheel, my new target, for a light. Out of nowhere my target leans into me and asks for a light.

Btzz btzzzz… (sparks and busted wires) “Um, I think mine just ran out.”

“Oh, really?”

“No, wait,” I fumble around my pockets pretending to look for my other lighter, which I have, just at home. “Oh, here it is.” I light her smoke. “Yeah, it was the other one that went empty so I tossed it.” Nice, dude, nice.

She points over to tits. “Can you light her’s too?”

Oh fuck me, why not? “Sure.” Tits leans in and has a little trouble making sure the end gets in the flame. I tease her about it. She says something in response, but I didn’t hear nor did I care. I try to use the line I had to open tits, “Is one of you getting married?” and it totally flops, of course. Afterwards, I sit back in my seat and sip at my drink. Approach #2 busted by my own goddamn line.

Tits and the third wheel leave soon after Daisy (due to her extremely short shorts) sits down with them. Daisy dresses trashy, but damn if she doesn’t have a nice body. 7.5, just ’cause there were curves in all the right places. The guy, who is drunk, and Daisy talk like they’re siblings or they’ve fucked. Daisy apparently is in the process of breaking up with her boyfriend over the phone. I just sit and watch. When the guy gets up to get beer or piss or whatever, I move in and offer a cigarette since she just finished hers. When her phone blows up with her boyfriend on the other line, I just plop down across from her and wait. For what had to be at least half and hour, I sit and watch her and her boyfriend scream at each other, her and the guy argue as he goes from good friend to “I don’t blame him”. It was hilarious.

After a final calming down, she moves around the table. I have my feet up on the chair next to me, but when she walks over and tugs on the chair, I smile and offer it. She sits and the smallest of coversation happens. The guy wants to leave (“I’m tired”).

I look at her. “Ah, c’mon, you can stay, right?”

She ignores the question, but introduces herself. They go back into the bar and I sit there, content. A minute later I decide to go, considering my night good. I head to the pisser and on my return Daisy and her friend are still at the bar, getting another drink. My cup in hand, I go up and pretend to be getting another as well. I open my phone to contacts and when she looks at me I smile and go, “Hey, I never got your number?”

A giant grin comes over her face. “Oh, you’re good.”

I grin back. “Good enough to get a number?”

Cha-ching.

She’s a bar chick on the other side of the “river” here in Riverside. I think I’ll just hit up the place my next go out.

Overall review: I approached, I opened, I number closed. My only mistake was the shit luck of having my own line used on me.

8 responses to “Game Review: The Walk

  1. i wouldn’t think of this necessarily as failure, tho. often times when i try to go out and score, of course it doesn’t always work, but sometimes a fuck up one night turns into a success if you make a point to learn from it. i’ll probably be writing stories like this with wisconsin as a setting in a few months… where y ou live at?

  2. i live right now in tomahawk wisconsin but i’m tryin to move to madison, wi. i just got off the plane from livin’ in the bay area for 15 years. you mean riverside, ca?

  3. Pingback: Linkage is Good for You: Unfathomable Pain Edition

  4. It’s hard to find your blog in google. I found it on 14 spot, you should build quality
    backlinks , it will help you to rank to google top 10.
    I know how to help you, just search in google – k2 seo tips and tricks

  5. I see a lot of interesting posts on your page.

    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you
    a lot of work, there is a tool that creates readable, SEO friendly
    articles in couple of seconds, just search in google – k2
    unlimited content

  6. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably
    you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save
    you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates readable, google friendly
    posts in minutes, just search in google – laranitas free
    content source

Leave a Reply

